Social Media Helps Reunite a Sister and Brother

Julia Mauer Facebook Plea

IMG: via Facebook

Julia Mauer and Isaiah Luke’s childhood didn’t start off so well. After several incidents of abuse in their household, they were taken by Child Protective Services. After living with their paternal grandmother for a while, they were then placed in foster care and adopted by two different sets of parents. This was over 12 years ago.

“Growing up there weren’t a lot of great things, but [Isaiah] was such a light in my life,” Mauer, now 24, told ABC’s Good Morning America. “I had this draw to find him.”

She posted a picture of herself on Facebook holding a sign with all the information she knew about her brother. The photo was shared over 18,000 times. After several shares and her story being picked up by a local news station, she was finally able to find her brother.

Although she was searching with the incorrect birth year, The Denver Post reported a woman emailed Denver’s local ABC7 station saying, “I think the young man is my cousin’s adopted son.”

She found her brother Isaiah on Facebook, and he lived only 30 miles away from her in Aurora, Colorado.

“I’ve never felt this happy, this sort of fulfillment, and closure of the past in my entire life,” Mauer told ABC. “It’s tears of joy. It’s also a new beginning. I have part of my family back, I have part of myself back.”

This entry was posted in Good News, News, People and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

