Facebook Gets Rid of the ‘Thumbs Up’ Like Button

Facebook Old Like ButtonFirst you became a fan of a page on on Facebook, then you liked it by giving it a thumbs up. The iconic like button has been redesigned, with no thumbs up in sight. According to Facebook, the like and share buttons are seen over 22 billion times every day.

Facebook announced changes to their “Share” and “Like” buttons on Wednesday. This is the first time the “Like” button has been changed since it was introduced in 2013. While the thumbs up is gone from the button, it will appear in the dialogue box above the button that shows how many people have liked that post. Another change is the Facebook “f” symbol is now in blue instead of white.

Check out the changes below:

New Facebook Like Button“We’re already seeing a favorable increase in Likes and Shares with the new design and will be rolling these buttons out to everyone in the coming weeks,” wrote Ray C. He, a software engineer at Facebook. Ironically, The Huffington Post pointed out that the post on the new “Like” and “Share” buttons still features the old versions of both.

Facebook now hopes that websites will include both buttons on their pages. The like button allows users to like the article, which will show up on their feed that they liked it. Sharing allows users to post it to their timeline and add comments.

Users will see changes on those 7.5 million websites as the button changes in the coming weeks. What do you think of the new buttons, is it an improvement on the old one?

About these ads
This entry was posted in News, Social Media, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s